Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Puget Sound Georgia Basin Model

Contacts and Project Team

Vision

The Salish Sea Model was motivated by a long-term vision to build and provide a predictive, quantitative coastal ocean modeling tool to support activities within the Puget Sound and Georgia Basin. Our products support a growing community of scientists, engineers, planners, water-quality managers, and land-use managers who are dedicated to sustainable practices and the protection of our valuable coastline and marine ecosystem. Our experienced team is capable of addressing a continuum of topics including pollution control, habitat restoration, sea level rise, and climate change.

Please contact Tarang Khangaonkar or Charlie Brandt for more information about the Salish Sea Model.

Tarang Khangaonkar, Ph.D., P.E.
Program Manager - Integrated Coastal Ocean Modeling
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
1100 Dexter Avenue N. Suite 500
Seattle, WA 98109
(206) 528-3053
tarang.khangaonkar@pnnl.gov

Charlie Brandt, Ph.D.
Director - Coastal Sciences Division
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
1529 West Sequim Bay Road
Sequim, WA 98382
(360) 681-4594
charles.brandt@pnnl.gov

 

 

 

 

 

Project Team and Collaborators

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Tarang Khangaonkar, Ph.D, P.E. tarang.khangaonkar@pnnl.gov (206) 612-1598
Jonathan Whiting jonathan.whiting@pnnl.gov (206) 528-3060
Wenwei Xu wenwei.xu@pnnl.gov (206) 528-3403
Adi Nugraha, Ph.D adi.nugraha@pnnl.gov (206) 528-3413
Laki Premathilake, Ph.D malerajage.premathilake@pnnl.gov (206) 528-3439
Taiping Wang, Ph.D. taiping.wang@pnnl.gov (206) 528-3054
Zhaoqing Yang, Ph.D. zhaoqing.yang@pnnl.gov (206) 528-3057
Washington State Department of Ecology
Cristiana Figueroa-Kaminsky, Ph.D, P.E. cfig461@ecy.wa.gov (360) 407-7392
Greg Pelletier, Ph.D gpel461@ecy.wa.gov (360) 407 6485
Teizeen Mohamedali tmoh461@ecy.wa.gov (360) 715-5209
Anise Ahmed aahm461@ecy.wa.gov (360) 407-6767
Sheelagh McCarthy shem461@ecy.wa.gov (360) 407-6884
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Ben Cope cope.ben@epa.gov (206)-553-1442
Dino Marshalonis marshalonis.dino@epa.gov (206)-553-1519

 

Past Collaborators

Taeyun Kim (2009-2011), Wen Long (2012-2017), Laura Bianucci (2014-2017), Brandon Sackmann (2009-2012)

Salish Sea Model Overview

Research & Projects

Collaboration